One in the bag

February 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

I dipped my toes in the pond this weekend at Cherry Pie.  Believe it or not (I believe it, but a lot of people I mentioned it to did not), I had never finished that race with the field before. The first year I toed that particular line was the year Colavita came out & taught a clinic, and I have been off the back by the halfway point ever since.

Patterns can change, though. I had a great race up until the last lap, when I tried to bridge to a solo break for second place. Didn’t get enough of a gap so I shut it down, then needed an extra few seconds to recover before I could fight for sprint position. That’s all it takes, I started my sprint way too far back & ended up in 12th. Not too bad considering how I botched that finish, but definitely not the result I wanted.

Folsom next weekend. My family will be there to watch & allegedly it will be raining.  If both those things happen, there’s only one thing to be done…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One in the bag at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

