Which one is it?

July 9, 2010 § 1 Comment

I recently started wearing makeup on a regular basis for the first time in my life. While I have a couple good reasons for doing this (looking professional at work, for example, and ending up in more start-line photos when I wear a little mascara & lip gloss), ultimately I’m doing it because I’m highly motivated by vanity.

With a little help from my friend Jessica, I learned that it was possible to apply makeup and not look like a clown, a “working” girl or somebody’s grandmother. Yes! So I started to wear makeup more often (which wasn’t hard, since even one time is more often than never), and the compliments started rolling in. That was good. I like positive reinforcement.

Pretty soon, though, the sheen wore off. The comments changed from “you look pretty!” to “I didn’t know you cleaned up so nice.” In one particularly memorable instance I became Facebook friends with someone who I had met on a weekend getaway to New Orleans, where I had worn my glasses and no makeup the entire time. Upon seeing my photos on Facebook he sent me a message to let me know that he “had no idea [I was] such a knockout.” Um…thanks?

The take-home message was that I looked awfully ratty a natural. Not exactly what anybody wants to hear but still motivating to slap on a new coat of paint each morning.

Then today Gmail gave me a sponsored link to an article on how to apply makeup so that it doesn’t look like I’m wearing makeup…now I’m confused. Barefacedness obviously didn’t work as well as I thought it did, but now I’m supposed to look like I’m barefaced, but I need makeup to look like that, and that bang you just heard was my pretty painted head exploding.

§ One Response to Which one is it?

  • Messika says:

    Screw all the articles. Make-up to a girl is somewhat like a suit to guy. It’s just adds a little pop when you feel like spreading your feathers. I guess the same goes for dresses on girls. Don’t take compliments the wrong way. For example, I think we can all agree guys look good in a suit – although the same guy can be hot in stinky running gear, I’m probably going to say something about the suit. I think the same goes for chicks: A little gloss and glitter will grab some attention (even though the consensus is we all really look our hottest au naturel on laundry day). However, you’re probably going to get the compliment with the glitter, right? Aw hell, that was my best shot… I say we just start bedazzling our faces and giving everyone the finger 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Which one is it? at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

