the Bradshaw follies

May 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

The smallest things can launch a flood of memory. Take this cartoon, for example:

This little drawing took me back to one summer afternoon when I was about ten years old. My parents went out to dinner, leaving my two younger brothers (ages eight and five) and me with two babysitters, the Spies sisters.

The first few hours must have been uneventful, because I don’t remember any of it. At some point we were allowed to start a water fight. The poor babysitters didn’t know what they were up against. We managed to drag two garden hoses into the house and trap them in the bathroom, making them our hostages and flooding the house until our parents came home from dinner. Mom and Dad were not very happy with us, and the sisters never babysat us again. I suspect the Spies sisters told my folks to lose their number.

This still ranks among my proudest achievements. It is right up there with busting holes through Grandma’s wall while “sledding” down the stairs under the lax supervision of yet another unsuspecting babysitter.

In hindsight I wonder why they didn’t just climb out the bathroom window and turn off the hoses. Stockholm syndrome?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the Bradshaw follies at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

