Like Hansel & Gretel, but on bikes.

April 8, 2010 § 2 Comments

Last week on Facebook, someone posted a photo of a race I did as a cat 3, in 2006. In the comments we shared a laugh about the silly fashion mistakes we made back then and how far we’d come.

Then I realized that the bike in that photo is the same one I am racing on this year:

It's not old, it's vintage! (photo thanks to Vera Divenyi)

Yikes.

Around the same time that my bike started to come apart. My two-year-old cranks started to reject my pedals, my headset took to creaking like a bed in a fraternity house. Since my bike has never shown any signs of being able to read, nor having its own Facebook profile, I have to assume that the deterioration is due to age and not as a result of being picked apart on the internet.

Last week I lost a water bottle cage (snapped at the bolt) and computer sensor — the important part (just fell off?)– in a single three-hour ride. Luckily I managed to save the computer before it got squashed by somebody’s H2, but yeesh. Maybe we could have spread it out a bit?

It’s not all bad news, though. For you, dear reader, now is a really good time to ride behind me (especially at the finish line, hint hint), particularly if you’re in the market for new equipment. You never know what wonders await you.

§ 2 Responses to Like Hansel & Gretel, but on bikes.

  • randmiller says:

    Will you quit moving things from one side of your blog to the other? It’s distracting me…from distracting myself from work.

    • EB says:

      Aw, I wait days and days for a comment, only to have my balls busted!

      The changes are mostly your doing. I didn’t care what it looked like until somebody told me they were actually *reading* it…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Like Hansel & Gretel, but on bikes. at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

