My girlhood sport

March 23, 2010 § 4 Comments

This morning I was visiting with my mother, discussing the ways my hometown has changed over years. There used to be an old fashioned ice-cream parlor in the downtown area that went out of business when I was in junior high. I hadn’t thought about it in years, but it was the kind of place that childhood legends are made of. I used to get to visit it once a year. As a prize for reading more than everybody else in my class (and you better believe that I won that prize every year).

I was a competitive reader and only motivated by food prizes.

Is there a world championship for that?

§ 4 Responses to My girlhood sport

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My girlhood sport at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

