have bike, will ride

January 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

At the end of May, I found out my hours would be cut. At the beginning of September, I started working half-time and tried to fill the empty hours with substitute teaching gigs. I hear a lot of people had that same idea. I haven’t been called much.

Instead, I’ve been riding my bike. A lot. More than I ever expected to be able to ride on a regular basis. I figure that so long as I have the time, I might as well see just how much of a difference it makes to consistently put in long hours AND have the time to recover from it. After three months, I feel comfortable saying that it makes a huge difference.

Huh.

I guess I didn’t expect it to matter so much, but these three months have changed me. After two full seasons without an upgrade or any breakthrough results, I figured I had reached my potential, at least comparatively. Sure, I get stronger, but so does everybody else & my place in the food chain seemed pretty darn consistent. I didn’t really think that adding a handful of hours would have this kind of impact. But after three months of this…

I feel strong.

This is a very new feeling.

I debated writing about this, wondering whether I’d jinx it. But you know, I’ve put in the work. The foundation is there now. This year I won’t have the option of hiding behind my long work weeks and short training weeks, but I don’t think I’ll need the excuses as much.

I think I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading have bike, will ride at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

