Re-entry in 5, 4, 3…

January 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

This is how it goes: I sit down at the computer with vague bloggie thoughts in my head, then I get sucked into the television, or a real-life conversation, or a virtual conversation, and before I know it the thoughts are gone and I don’t quite have it in me to figure out something new.

So, tonight I’m shutting off everything except Mr. Man and giving it another go.

Somewhere along the line I downloaded “100 Hits of the 80s.” The fact that 100 popular songs cost less than ten dollars probably should have clued me in, but it was only when I went to listen to it for the first time that I realized every song was performed by a cover band, not the original artist.

The bands are actually pretty good, but there must be copyright issues somewhere because they make subtle changes to the lyrics. Usually they show up just as I’ve settled down from the shock of a strange voice coming in on top of a pitch-perfect intro to a familiar song. It turns out that hits like “Livin’ on a Prayer” rely at least as much as their familiarity as their musicality. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Re-entry in 5, 4, 3… at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

