PotW: the one that got away

June 22, 2009 § 8 Comments

This is the one that got away:

Admittedly, my timing was bad; weaseling my way in with the other media (you know, the ones with TV cameras and legitimate news reports? Yeah, that other media.) and handing him the ears on the start line was not the best setup. Something about a game face.*

It all came down to one sentence: “I am 100% sure that I don’t want to do it.” You take your chances and some days you take your lumps.

Truth be told, I’m a little embarrassed…I’ve never had to fake it before.**

Update: Ken Conley got a much better shot of this — click here for his Flickr page! Thanks, Ken!

* I’d definitely pose in animal ears on a start line…I wonder what that says about my game face.

** It really helps to have friends in the field, though. See that hand holding the ears? Check back next week for the real panda I got at Nevada City.

§ 8 Responses to PotW: the one that got away

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading PotW: the one that got away at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

