discount candy Thursday

November 1, 2007 § Leave a comment

Halloween’s cool and all, but today is the holiday I really celebrate. I was in Walgreen’s with the other candyholics before 8:00 am, laying claim on the dregs left over from trick or treating. In times like these you have to strike quick and you have to strike hard — certain choice candies like peanut butter cups were nearly gone already. Not my choice, but they’re definitely popular.

Did you know that candy corn now comes in caramel corn, candy apple corn and indian corn varieties? I stuck with the original and the caramel corn, and got a big bag of tootsie roll midgees to balance it out. I grew up in the sticks; waxy, chemical candy will always hold a special place in my heart…

Mr. Man & I did start our training ride last night through the streets of Piedmont, at least, and we got to see a lot of trick-or-treaters running wild. I think I saw Louisa May Alcott, and some standard jumpsuit-and-mask costumes. Some of the parents really got into it, with bodies on the roof and floating carriages in the trees, and other blocks (entire blocks!) and their lights out and totally silent streets. Anyone have a child I can borrow next year? I have the best routes all mapped out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading discount candy Thursday at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

