shell-shocked

June 11, 2007 § Leave a comment

On my lunch break, I

…threw away some of the meat that came on the sandwich I bought, just because I don’t really like how it tastes.

…sat in the green grass in the open public space near my office.

…couldn’t see or smell the pollution in the air.

…went to the supermarket (which is open twenty-four hours a day and has a huge variety of foods and several brands of each food).

…had my choice of fruits & vegetables that I don’t have to soak in iodine for fifteen minutes (hell, some were already washed for me, even).

…walked past all the bottled water that I don’t have to buy because I can drink straight from the tap.

…realized just how many products we call food that have absolutely no nutritional value.

…felt a little embarrassed about all the times I’ve been miffed when the store was out of what I wanted.

It’s gonna take me a while to get back into the swing of things.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading shell-shocked at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

