bridging the gap

June 5, 2007 § Leave a comment

One thing that’s been kind of nagging at me is how it will feel to go back to the U.S. and its luxuries. While we’ve been gone I’ve become very aware of just how good I’ve got it.

The things I love to do, like bike racing, seem pretty trivial and silly in the face of so many people without clean water to drink. The things I worry about, like, uh, everything, don’t compare to the fact that simple things like a stomach flu kill children here, because medical care isn’t provided for a number of reasons (there are doctors & public hospitals, but their ability to treat everyone who needs treatment is limited). I’ve had a shift in perspective for sure.

I’m hoping that the memory of how lucky I am and the gratitude I feel stays with me, but that the heartache for those who don’t have what I do doesn’t replace the joy I feel doing the things I love.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading bridging the gap at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

