half a world away

June 2, 2007 § Leave a comment

What strikes me the most is how much a city is a city anywhere you go. There are little quirks, yes, but there is a common language amongst metropolitan areas.

The thing that surprises me the most is how far away my “real” life seems right now, like waking up in the Kathmandu valley to monks chanting and cows lowing the hills behind the house is the most natural thing in the world.

And the thing that will stick with me the longest is just how lucky I am to have been born who I am, where I was, and how I should never, ever, ever take it for granted ever again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading half a world away at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

