taking a backseat

May 4, 2007 § Leave a comment

For the most part, the races that Mr. Man and I go to end up being all about me. I have teammates to meet, I have roles to play in the races, I worry about my abilities, I am elated or disappointed by the outcome of the race…meanwhile, Mr. Man quietly puts up with my chatter and takes care of the details that really matter. When it’s my turn to support him, I still tend to let my race overshadow his; I pin his number while I’m telling him about the sprint, I put mix in his bottles as I chew my nails watching for my competition.

I really take him for granted. He deserves a lot better than that, for more reasons than I could ever explain.

But this weekend at Cat’s Hill, it’s all about him. He’s going to tear that thing apart.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading taking a backseat at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

