and on a more positive note…

March 11, 2007 § Leave a comment

Writing letters isn’t just for disappointment anymore…

To debmarkad@aol.com (Sacramento Golden Wheelmen contact for Bariani Road Race):

Hello —

I want to thank you for including a separate women’s 4 field in your race this year. Although the decision will not affect my racing personally, I feel very strongly that this kind of commitment to the development of women’s racing should be recognized and rewarded, and I am encouraging all of the category 4 women I know to race at Bariani to show support for your decision.

Also, I hope that you have good registration numbers for your women’s 1/2/3 race. Unfortunately the Sequoia criterium is the same day, and the promoter of that race has made another significant contribution to women’s cycling by offering equal prize lists for the women and men’s pro categories. In a situation like this, with two competing races, it seems inevitable that someone will be disappointed by their registration in the women’s 1/2/3 field (though I really hope this is not the case!). I hope that if the registration numbers for the women’s 1/2/3 race seem low this year, the fact of the competing race will be taken into consideration while planning next year’s race; I would hate to see this category eliminated next year!

Thanks again for your commitment to women’s racing. It is appreciated.

Best regards,
the Panda

To Sheri Clark sccracedirector@yahoo.com (Sequoia Cycling Classic Race Coordinator):

Dear Sheri —

I want to thank you for your decision to offer equal prize lists for the women and men’s pro categories at the Sequoia Classic this year. What a wonderful thing to see! I hope that many other races follow your lead in this.

Unfortunately, I personally will not be able to attend the race this year, as there are two races near my hometown the same weekend. However, I sincerely hope that you fill your fields in both events. In a situation like this, with two competing races, it seems inevitable that someone will be disappointed by their registration in the women’s 1/2 field (though I really hope this is not the case!). I hope that if the registration numbers for the women’s 1/2 race seem low this year, the fact of the competing race will be taken into consideration while planning next year’s race, and not as an indication that your decisions regarding this years race are unappreciated!

Thanks again for your commitment to women’s racing. It is appreciated.

Best regards,
the Panda

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading and on a more positive note… at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

