compromise

February 6, 2007 § Leave a comment

One of my Christmas gifts last year was a book on artisan baking, which was just the kick in the pants I needed to get back in the kitchen and play. In my pre-bike life I baked a lot — fresh sourdough every week from my own starter, quick breads, cookies…I miss it. This year, rather than set any resolutions about food I decided to make a deal with myself: I can eat any sweet baked goods I want so long as I make them myself. Bagels (too complicated with the boiling & baking) and mid-ride goodies (’cause sometimes you just need a brownie) excepted.

So far this plan is working really well for me. I’m trying out all sorts of new recipes and having to decide whether my craving for X is worth the four hours of mixing, kneading, rising and baking it will take to create it. And I don’t have to worry about what is or isn’t included in my food, since I can substitute to my little heart’s content.

Last night I made some very yummy sweet coconut buns out of this book. They are usually served as dim-sum, which is one of my favorite things, and boy are they tasty! The recipe is deceptively simple, too; all you need is a little bit of patience while the dough rises. After one month of my little experiment I think I am actually eating more baked goods than I did before, but since I know what went into them (both ingredient- and labor-wise) it doesn’t seem that bad.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading compromise at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

