hot hot hot

July 24, 2006 § Leave a comment

Good god Livermore was hot. When I pulled out halfway through my race I had the goosebumps & shivers and it was 110* out. Thankfully my mind kicked in enough to realize that this was NOT a healthy or normal situation and prevented me from doing any permanent damage. With a little help from teammates & my Love and the VeloGirls in the feedzone I got it under control (Thanks for: letting me sit under the tent; reminding me to keep drinking; bringing over the ice; reminding me that I shouldn’t beat myself up…and thanks for the Boo(bie) Boo(bie) Buddy, Lorri — it’s in my freezer in preparation for the next hot one!).

One cold bath & a whole lot of water (I think there was half a day in there, too, but nothing spectacular in it) it was time for Albany. Mentoring the fours race was so so so much fun, and FAST! I didn’t expect it to be so hard, but I guess that’s to be expected when you ride most of it off the pack without a draft. For the most part I stayed with a small group trying to work together, and it was quite an inspiration. Two women who were riding their hearts out racing their first race, one ten year old girl who never lost the smile on her face (and not the locally-famous one you’re thinking of) and my always-badass teammate who came out & really raced — attacking at the start, getting back in with the pack when they came around, helping and encouraging the new racers, all with a big smile on her face. It made me really proud and reminded me why I love this sport and the people in it.

Then, my own race…this is the third leadout I’ve tried to give and the third time that I start with my person on my wheel, then somewhere between a one hundred meters and a quarter-lap later I lose them. As far as I can tell I don’t accelerate or anything, but I can’t seem to hold a sprinter. So after starting my leadout with half a lap to go I was pretty wasted but couldn’t sit because my girl hadn’t come around…thank goodness it was a downhill sprint.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading hot hot hot at Elis is a four-letter word.

meta

